The Community Heroes Awards honour members of our community who have made selfless contributions to our community as volunteers.

The Awards will be presented at 7 PM on Friday 12th October during Some Enchanted Evening at The Tanks Arts Centre.

Awards are nominated by community members and decided by a panel of past honourees.

Please email your nominations. Nominations close Saturday 1st September.

The Categories are:

The Pat O'Hara Award for Lifetime Achievement: For a community member who has offered voluntary service over many years. For information on previous honourees

Significant Contribution Award: For a community member who has made a significant contribution over the past year.

Pompo Rainbow Award for Indigenous Leadership: For an Indigenous community member who had made an outstanding contribution for their mob in the LGBT+ community.

Woman of the Year: For the woman who has done most for the female members of our community in 2018.

Youth of the Year: For a young person who has made a significant contribution.

If you feel someone is deserving of recognition who does not fit these categories please email your thoughts for the panel's consideration.

The awards will also feature the President's Award, given at the discretion of the President to someone deserving of recognition for their efforts.

Cairns Tropical Pride

Community Heroes Awards